Blogging – the “fresh goods” of your business

Posted on April 6, 2009. Filed under: Small business communications | Tags: , , |

eyesOne of my clients (a very worthy organization) has me blogging for them… and you can’t actually get to the page.  I have been blogging in the dark vacuum of space now for a couple of days.

I fully expect the problem to be fixed by the end of today because the right people have been alerted – but this isn’t the first time I’ve seen blogs buried in the clutter of a website.  Another client currently hides the company blog deep in the sub-menus of their website, and updates it very rarely, even though this client is bubbling over daily with great ideas.  What a waste of a wonderful resource!

The way I see it, when you are blogging for a business, or to gain support for a cause, or just to share your ideas, why would you hide it where no one can see it?  Why not have a section on the home page that gives visitors one-click access to your latest helpful hint?  How about putting it right on the navigation bar throughout the site?

Because a blog is designed to be updated on a regular basis,  it can add ongoing freshness to your online presence.  It brings the aroma of fresh-baked goods right onto your site.  That’s attractive – people will go there to see what is new, and they will stay longer if they find news, thoughts, ideas or interactions when they get there.  Hiding your blog in the depths of your site is like having a storefront, and hiding in the back room with a “ring bell for service” sign out front.

Go stand in the middle of your shop, and interact with the people who come in.  Serve them your fresh goods with pride.

On that same note,  I am currently in domain-hosting purgatory, waiting for my blog to be united with the rest of my website.  Once everything transfers over, you – dear reader – will be the first to know.

Make a Comment

Leave a Reply

One Response to “Blogging – the “fresh goods” of your business”

RSS Feed for Only Connect Comments RSS Feed

I had someone pestering me for a blogroll exchange. I was vaguely interested in one out of the five blogs she runs and, despite being quite choosy who I put on my blogroll, agreed. However, she insisted on putting my back link on one of the other sites … and tucked away opn one of the most minor static pages she had. Needless to say, I cancelled the arrangement.

You are right. You need to be seen. And you need to be suitably accessible.

😎


Where's The Comment Form?

Liked it here?
Why not try sites on the blogroll...

